ROYAL AIR FORCES ASSOCIATION – GLOUCESTER BRANCH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING – SATURDAY 26TH APRIL 2014 <u>MINUTES</u>

Present:

15 Members

1. **Opening and Dedication**.

The meeting was called to order at 1235 hrs by the President, Mr Eric Ede and the Dedication was observed.

2. Apologies.

Mr HRT Shackleton Mr Melford Jones Mr John Lawrence Mr Phillip Tagg Mr Andy Williams Mr Martin Henshaw Mr Herbert Wright Mrs Anne Allen

3. President's Opening Remarks.

The President, Eric Ede, invited all present to introduce themselves to the meeting. He then asked that the meeting stand and observe one minute's silence in memory of our colleague and former HWO and Standard bearer, Jim Davies, who sadly passed away at the end of the previous year.

The President thanked the Members present for their attendance, the Committee for their hard work and dedication over the past year and the Committee and Members of the Wagon Works Club for their hospitality in allowing us the use of their facilities. The President then handed over to the Chairman, Ian Boyd.

4. Minutes of the AGM 2013

The minutes of the AGM held on Saturday 27th April 2013 were presented by the Secretary. It was proposed by Ruth Aldridge and seconded by Pam Blackhall that they represented a true record of the meeting. Carried.

5. Branch Chairman's Report.

The Chairman, Ian Boyd, welcomed Ray Bunnage as the newly appointed Honorary Welfare Officer (HWO) and Chris Hill as the newly appointed Treasurer. He thanked Lorraine, Honorary Secretary, for her hard work. He gave a dedication to the memory of Jim Davies and outlined the hard work he had done for many years as a staunch member of the Club and Branch committees and as Honorary Welfare Officer and Branch Standard bearer. The Chairman encouraged the members and committee to put forward new ideas in an attempt to revitalize the Branch.

6. Branch Treasurer's Report.

The Treasurer, Chris Hill, produced a statement of account for the year ending 31st December 2013. He reported that the balance of the account stands at £178,332.07 He further reported that Gift Aid now includes Wings Appeal donations at 25%. It was proposed by Dave Johnson and seconded by Sally Dixon that the Treasurer's report represented a true record. Carried. (copy of the statement of account is attached to these minutes).

7. Honorary Welfare Officer's Report.

The HWO, Ray Bunnage, reported that he had made 6 welfare visits, an average of 2 per month, since taking up the post. He told the meeting that most Branches have 2 HWOs and asked if a second person wished to volunteer he would guide them through the process. He commented that he had noticed in the past 3 months that Members are unable to attend meetings and prospective events mainly due to transport and/or mobility problems. It had been suggested to him by a Member that in addition to "tea and chat" visits, Members may like to volunteer to offer a 'phone call and chat to those who are lonely or unable to get out and about. He further asked that Members pass on details of anyone they know who may be in need of welfare assistance or just company. It was agreed that the "tea and chat" and "phone call and chat" idea was a good one. It was proposed by Pat Taylor and seconded by Dave Johnson that this should be implemented. Carried.

8. Honorary Wings Appeal Organiser's Report.

Lorraine gave a breakdown of the collection total for the Wings Appeal 2013 as follows:

Bob Hewings	£54.13
•	
Eric Ede	£57.45
Len Horne	£28.50
Teri Ogden	£18.71
Dave Johnson	£61.13
Ian Boyd	£27.62
Noel & Pam Phillips	£ 2.93
Lorraine Wilson	£75.21
SubTotal	<u>£322.98</u>
Donation from	
Branch Funds	£323.02
Grand Total	<u>£646.00</u>

Dave Johnson proposed a vote of thanks to the volunteers for their efforts. Seconded by Sally Dixon. Carried.

9. <u>Resolutions.</u>

There were no new resolutions.

10. <u>Election of Officers</u>.

There being no new volunteers for named Committee posts it was proposed by Eric Ede, seconded by Pat Taylor that the current committee be re-elected on block. Chris Hill and Ray Bunnage were ratified as new Committee members, having been previously voted on at Committee level. Carried.

11. Election of Auditors.

It was proposed by Chris Hill that an auditor be elected at the next Branch meeting.

12. Any Other Business.

a. Pat Taylor suggested that Wings Appeal collections should be extended to dates in local supermarkets. Chris Hill further suggested that one of the supermarkets could be approached with a view to adopting RAFA Wings appeal as their annual charity. Lorraine Wilson agreed to progress both ideas.

b. Dave Johnson commented that Members had not been informed about or invited to the ceremony for the opening of the Flowerdown garage facility. Lorraine responded by saying the invitation was limited to Branch committee members by Flowerdown. c. There was an extensive discussion about proposed future entertainment for Branch members. Ray Bunnage proposed that a quarterly newsletter could be produced giving details of Branch activities and featuring articles which may be of interest to Branch members. This idea was well received and the committee agreed to discuss and implement the idea at the next Branch meeting.

c. Lorraine presented an email she had received after the AGM 2012 from life member, Peter Canning, expressing his views on several matters. He supported the donation of the garage facility at Flowerdown, despite opposition from one member at the meeting, and supported the idea of a plaque being displayed on the building acknowledging the Branch's funding of the project. He commented that at no point during the AGM were members asked to introduce themselves, nor was the committee properly introduced to the meeting. (This point was rectified at the beginning of this meeting, 2013, para 3 above refers). He went on to express concern about the lack of activity within the Branch (para 7 and para 12c above address both of these issues).

c. The President thanked the Members present for their attendance and input. He closed the meeting at 1415 hrs.

Minutes submitted by: Lorraine Wilson (Secretary)

Approved by:

Eric Ede (President)